Everyone loves an eye catching KO, and they can easily make up forget a poor performance and a bout that was otherwise unmemorable. Today we look at a finish that was truly brilliant and came out of the blue. In fact this one of those rare ko's that bails a fighter out of of not only a bad performance, but also bails them out whilst they are way down on the cards.
Akifumi Shimoda (23-2-1, 10) vs Rico Ramos (19-0, 10)
In January 2011 Akifumi Shimoda ended the short WBA Super Bantamweight title reign of Ryol Li Lee, who had won the title in an upset against Poonsawat Kratingdaenggym. Shimoda's title win had been a multi-knockdown war with Lee and he looked like he was going to be a fun champion. His first defense came in July when travelled to the US to take on unbeaten American Rico Ramos.
At the time Ramos was 19-0 (10), he was regarded as a promising prospect but was stepping up massively here to challenge for the WBA title.
The bout really wasn't great. In fact it was really dire for the first 6 rounds. Shimoda did enough to take the lead, he boxed cautiously, but smartly and picked up rounds without needing to take risks and do too much at all. Ramos on the other hand looked confused by the southpaw stance of the champion, did little more than follow Shimoda around the ring early on, and then back off as the rounds went by. In all honesty Ramos looked like he was in sparring partner mode. Round by round Shimoda was stepping things up and in round 5 he managed to land some decent body shots.
After 6 rounds one judge had Shimoda pitching a shut out, the other two judges had been sympathetic to the challenger, giving him a round. Neither man had done much, but Shimoda had something.
In round 7 however everything was forgotten.
With less than 30 seconds of the round left Ramos landed a short sequences of punches. A right, a jab, a right and then a hook, dropping Shimoda, who got to his feet but was unable to steady himself forcing the referee to wave off the bout.
Despite being comfortably in the lead Shimoda had lost his title and suffered the first of two major stoppage losses for his career. As for Ramos his finish really was a flash in the pan moment. He lost the title the following January, being stopped by Guillermo Rigondeaux in what was another stinking performance from the America.
Thinking Out East
With this site being pretty successful so far we've decided to open up about our own views and start what could be considered effectively an editorial style opinion column dubbed "Thinking Out East" (T.O.E).